Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Loneliness

Could this little hummingbird be lonely?  I doubt it since it seems to be merely taking a bit of a respite from all of its whizzing, diving and, well, humming. After all, it's among only  a couple of dozen of its closest friends and family at the Madera Canyon wildlife area!

I haven't been able to identify this bird yet.  The completely buff breast, red stippling on its throat and brown wing feathers have me a bit stumped.  I will continue the search and eventually return and edit this blip, if even for my own peace of mind.  This sort of thing drives me bonkers!

EDIT:  This is a female Anna's hummingbird.  I have captured oodles and oodles of these birds but never noticed red stippling.  I think this is probably the best angle I have ever gotten of one in the two and a half years I have been shooting them!

The LIVE STREAMING HUMMINGBIRD CAM is back online today.  Peruse at your leisure.  I know it streams in the UK and Canada but not Germany.  I do not know about other countries outside of the US.  If you try it, let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.