Venice

We decided on a train adventure today which still meant half an hour's drive and a last minute 'where the bloody hell is the train station?' despite leaving plenty of time. We were directed up a one way street by an insistent local Italian which meant thankfully, we caught it with a few minutes to spare.

It was great to relax for a couple of hours on the train before hitting Venice. I have now developed a cold but am still hopeful it's not going to be horrendous. 

We started our arrival in Venice with a coffee and food on the river before making our way to Murano. Liz hadn't visited any of the islands so I was hoping she'd like them. Luckily, the beautiful glass was right up her street and we both enjoyed a little shopping spree.   

On to Burano, which was further than I thought and time was getting on. I was a little concerned it wouldn't be worth the journey but it was even better than I'd remembered and Liz loved it too. We enjoyed finding the quiet little colourful streets away from the crowds and taking photos before heading back to Venice.

We had hoped we might fit in a gondola ride but not a chance! By the time we'd worked our way diagonally across Venice, reading those long and way too similar street names on a tiny map, we had 15 minutes for the train. Navigating on a hill in thick fog is much easier! Third time lucky for Liz, we concluded on the gondola front, and find someone romantic to share it with.

Now travelling home on the train, we're just hoping the car hasn't been towed away. Assuming it's still there, we will certainly have had the fine adventure we were after. If forgetting to pick up Liz's panini is the only mishap, we've done well. (She has wine. And I did share my food. Don't be too upset!)

Update: car still there and, unless my SD card doesn't make it home, I'm sparing you the photo of my calf and thigh mosquito bites (even after double dosing on anti-histamine, I have developed apparent double muscles. Evil beasts.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.