Leiflife

By Leiflife

An Angel Among Us

Early this week I went to my doctor about my persistent exhaustion and blood work was done. The result was discovering a vitamin D deficiency. This makes it necessary that I take a mega dose of vitamin D once a week. I took the first one on Thursday with lunch and almost immediately was assailed by severe heartburn. I wasn't surprised, as I have acid reflux and a sensitive stomach, but new medications always make me nervous, so I accepted my son's invitation to come for a visit. Grandchildren are a great distraction. 

On this day they were putting up Halloween decorations. A very active and exciting occupation on the part of the parents and the youngest child, Bryce. For Julia, my presence stands for quietly creative pursuits, so she and I carried colorful construction paper and scissors out on the porch, and soon we were taping an angel on a sea and sky background and adding birds, fishes, and a bright yellow sun. As ghosts, pumpkins, skeletons were being hung up in trees, and shrill whoops arose from Julia's little brother, she and I remained on our island of quiet, serene and companionable, at peace with the moment. Did I mention that Julia was wearing angel wings?

Extra photo of two of the "decorations"...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.