Crack of dawn

Or actually more like 3am.  Mish needed to go out because we went to bed really early.  And while I was outside with her, plus the torch, I saw action on the echium.

A couple of white fluttery moths came in and settled.  Nothing better to do I went up close and saw that it was a very pretty little moth, and after a few seconds of observing, it dawned on me that this was a Blip op just asking to be taken.

So, race inside, grab camera, make sure right lens is on (for once) and get back outside.  Do you think I could see the wretched thing.  But then I got my eyes back, and saw it - tried to take an image, but all I saw was blackness.  Bother, still got the lens cap on.  Take off lens cap and try again. 

The Olympus performed extremely well.  It was totally dark, and seeing that I had the small 60mm lens the flash worked better than I thought possible.

When I got back inside, I realised I had an incredible sequence of shots - the moth was laying eggs.  I didn't even know that the echium was a host plant, and there was me thinking of pulling it out.  No way is it going now.

I've even got an ID - it's a heliotrope moth  (Utetheisa pulchelloides), and do please look in extras.  I'm disappointed I couldn't get a shot with the wings open, but you can't win 'em all, even when you're on a roll. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.