Mono-Monday: "Fun" - without microchips!!

The kids on this picture are clearly having fun without the need for modern electronics!

When I was a lad I had one of these - in those days it was called a "Magic Robot". Like all things it eventually disintegrated so I was delighted when my Editor bought me this replica a few years ago. I'm not sure why the name has been changed to "Amazing Robot" - probably some sort of copyright issue I guess.

It's really quite clever. You plug the robot into the centre of the circle on the left, and twist it so that its wand points to a trivia question. Then you place the robot on the mirror inset in the centre of the circle on the right and - magic! - it points to the right answer, which is always at a different "clock hour" to the question. There are numerous different question-sheet overlays on different topics (who needs "Trivial Pursuit"?). Of course, an astute kid will soon realise that the displacement between the questions and the answers is consistent - but hey, its fun anyway. All done by magnets.

I thought the sepia rendering would best suit the age of the original toy.

Many thanks to Nickimags888 for taking on the task of hosting Mono-Monday this month - hope she enjoys it and has fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.