Morris Minor...

“Why is he blipping a Morris Minor?” you may ask.
 
Well, I was out running this morning and came across this remarkably well-preserved example. I’ve erased its registration number to respect the privacy of the owner who is unknown to me, but it ended in “F” which means it was registered between August 1967 and July 1968, so the car is nearly 50 years old.
 
I couldn’t resist photographing it, as it is identical to one which my late mother used to own, and on which I learned to drive in 1970 and subsequently used to "borrow" frequently.  Even the colour (with the exotic name “Rose Taupe”) is the same, so I was quite excited to see it as I haven’t seen one like it for many years. The one we owned had an “E” registration (registered between January and July 1967) so this one is of almost exactly the same vintage.
 
Unfortunately our Morris met an untimely end in an altercation with a lorry on the “Carter Bar” pass between England and Scotland in 1975, while being driven by a friend of my brother when 4 of them went on holiday in it. Happily they all survived; two of them had potentially serious injuries but they all made full recoveries.
 
Knowing my affection for the car in which I learned to drive, some years ago my wife happened to see a 3-inch long toy model of the car in the correct colour – so of course she bought it for me (she was very clever as she'd never seen our car - I didn't meet her until 5 years after its demise). The inset is a picture of the model.
 
I suspect that blip-friend Skeena will like this picture, as he’s very fond of Morris Minors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.