In The Groove

A little while back I featured a record player that we had bought so I could revisit my old vinyl collection dating back to the sixties and seventies that we have faithfully moved from house to house. So I have spent a couple of pleasant months listening to some of my records, with a short break when the box had to be replaced as it was misbehaving.

Recently I've been thinking about my record collection and whether it should be enhanced with some of the LPs from that era that I missed out on first time through, yes I know, I'm at that age when I start going through my second youth, very late mid-life crisis in my case. So I've been scouring eBay and am amazed at the amount of vinyl there is available dating back to that era, some very expensive of course, £144 for the second Rolling Stones LP that I won in a darts match. But a lot of it is quite reasonable, especially if you're not a serious collector but just want some music to listen to. So I've dusted off my eBay account and have started putting bids in for those that are cheap but are ommission from my collection, probably due to the fact that back in those days I didn't have the sort of money to spend on lots of new LPs.

So far I've purloined two Dylan, a Hendrix and a double Van Morrison with bids in for a Georgie Fame, but outbid on Pink Floyd, Animals, Stones and the Beatles White Album which went for over £100, I normally stop bidding around a tenner, including postage, the last of the big spenders!

Of course working at the Hospice Shop means I get to see the recent vinyl that hasn't yet been snapped up by a dealer. The two shown, from 1971 and 1980, are shop buys. I have my eye on a Roy Orbinson, a Beach Boys and a Paul Kossoff.

That's enough rambling, I think this picture qualifies not only for monoMonday but also this week's theme Fun, mm88, hosted by nikkimags888.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.