Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Was it Worth It?

Our sweet loverboy, Mr. Dibbs Doolittle had to leave us this morning. It was difficult to let him go, but clearly it was his time. My original trio of animal family is now all gone (we are however, still blessed with the delightful Lola Malu). 

With each pet's passing, I asked myself, was it worth it? Was our love and our years of devotion worth the sorrow that inevitably follows attachment? And through the tears, my answer, without hesitation is yes. I've now learned not to give in to the natural inclination to quickly push the sadness away. No, this pain is part of what seasons us as few human ingredients can, and we must allow ourselves time to absorb what we've lost and hold it close against us. Our sweet friend is gone, and yet, he stays.


[ pictured above: a leaf, soaked by my garden hose after rinsing off some tools today ]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.