Addington Cemetery

What a glorious day!

It was 27 degrees when I headed home from work. It's early spring and unusual to be having fan bake weather on my bike. Nice :-)

I popped out at lunchtime to enjoy the warmth, and wandered into the local Addington Cemetery. It looks so different with the vibrant new green of spring, but I always feel a little sad so many head stones are lying on the ground. At least they've been straightened and placed along side the graves they belong to.

In the next week or two, the sewers in my street will be replaced. These are repairs from the earthquakes. Sewers are usually 2-2.5m deep, but the ones in my street are 4.5m deep.

Huge sheets of steel with be driven into the sides of the trench they dig to a depth of 8m. I hope I'm at work when they do it.

Part of the process involves a pre-house inspection. Driving the steel in will shake windows and crockery. While no damage to homes is expected, the photo inspection inside and out is to record how things were before the work starts.

I started work early so I could leave in time to get home for my 4pm appointment with the assessor. No show and no message. It will happen  according to my schedule now.

If you saw the Blackadder like collar frill yesterday, I'm allowed to keep it for Wilson. I'll pay for it on my next visit to the vet or 5-star luxury cat accommodation.

That's one Christmas present taken care of ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.