Murrie194

By Murrie194

Remembering School Days

Having been taking photographs in a professional capacity for more than 35 years, it would fair to assume that finding images for a daily Blip would be a breeze.

However, I've been taking photographs 'to order' for so long, I've been finding it difficult to revert to 'hobby photography' again!!

Indeed, for years, I've hardly taken any photographs for fun - even when I go on holiday - and, strange as it sounds, I'm actually experiencing a bit of a learning curve.

Went out on a walk this morning and with the weather not so good (again) I was wondering what subject to choose.

Of course, like so many things, the answer can quit literally be under your nose and that's where today's Blip comes in.

I pass this building almost every time I go walking but it was only today I realised it's the ideal subject as it brings back memories on two fronts.

This was originally Newhouses School, the first school I attended. When was this? Well, you might be able to take a guess when you read the next few sentences.

There were only 15 pupils and boys and girls had separate playgrounds and separate doors!! Girls at the left, boys to the right.

The front of the building hasn't changed all that much, but the extension and doorway at the left are obviously a more modern addition.

I can remember my first teacher being a Miss Wright and punishment of choice was
having your knuckles rapped with a pencil. Painful at the time but I don't think any of the pupils suffered any lasting damage.

We did some of our lessons on blackboards around the single classroom and, like all schoolchildren in that era, we all had a bottle of milk (1/3 pint) mid morning.

I can also remember paraffin lamps being used on occasion but I can't remember why this was.

In the winter, 'tackety boots' were the de facto footwear choice for all the boys (Oor Wullie style) and icy slides down the playground were a must.

There were a few cuts and bruises of course but that was all part of the fun - and there were no complaints or cases of litigation. Just kids enjoying themselves.

The school eventually closed and one of it's reincarnations was that of a roadhouse, and that was where Janet and I had our wedding reception, just short of 45 years ago.

Looking for a daily Blip does tend to focus the mind a bit so, hopefully, I'll be able to keep it going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.