A Day at the Fair

Dear Diary,

A lovely day for the fair!  But honestly, the traffic and crowds were a bit much for me.  Still, I wandered around and spent a great deal of time with the animals.  They were all looking their very best and their proud owners were brushing and washing and getting them ready for judging.  I especially liked the 4-H exhibits and that little pig pile was too precious for words.  It is a beautiful fair and everything was so well kept and clean.  It began in 1851, the same year my house was built!

I visited the museum and the old school house and there I found something that actually related to my family research amazingly.  On the wall was a 1911 map of Europe and it showed Vilnius, the city my father's parents immigrated from, as being part of Russia.  I have their marriage certificate and it does say they were from Russia and I was always puzzled by that but at that time it was a part of Russia.  They were ethnic Poles but a large part of Poland was under Russian control.

So, in a very unlikely place I found another element of my family story.  I photographed the old map and will include it in the family chronicle.  I've included it as an extra photograph for those who like old maps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.