This is my Blip Life

By Kathy

Hometown heart ...............

I had to visit my hometown today , an appointment at the opticians took me there.
This town brings back so many memories for me, and tonight my heart aches.
This is the town I grew up in, I learnt to swim, skate and drive in.
I danced and romanced , and wore my make up & high heels in.
I rode my bike to my first full time job , and spent my wages faster than I could earn them.
I got my ears pierced here, and bought my first vinyl records .
I opened my first bank account , and took out my first mortgage.
I see doorways that I waited in, and cafes that we hung out in.
Restaurants where we celebrated , and parks where we sat in.
I caught buses and trains, and ate bugers and fries .
I see the office window where my dad used to wave from.
The M&S doorway that I used to meet my gran in .
The shops where my mum and I battled over clothes that were suitable and the shoes that we negotiated over.

I could change my opticians, I could easily go somewhere else,choose someplace closer to home. But I can't seem to cut the ties, I have to come back, I need to feel the familiarity of the streets and the road names, the buildings and the trees, and most of all to feel close to my family that are no longer with me.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.