My Great-aunt and Uncle

As I mentioned yesterday, my cousin Albert and I have been going through family photos. This one is from 1909, with my great-uncle Roland on the right and his sister-in-law Elizabeth (married to his brother Walter) seated in the car. I only knew her, simply as Aunt Elizabeth--a wonderfully sweet and generous lady. She was Albert's grandmother. A photo of Roland with his three brothers is here, with a view of the family house in Tamworth, New Hampshire.

The date of this photo is noted in Elizabeth's hand on the back, with the observation "French automobile"--so they are most likely in France (though it's a bit puzzling that the driver is sitting on the right). Elizabeth would have been about 33.

Albert's 8-year-old grandson had a birthday today, which was celebrated down the road at Chalford's public park--all the kids appeared with their waterguns and had a great time (refills were available in the stream alongside the park, which runs down the valley and which once operated as a canal with a series of locks--and even a tunnel through a nearby hill).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.