The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Česky Honza

Sometimes my blips are hard to explain. I have a great time at work, often enough, but can't really say anything about it except that progress was made, or that the children enjoyed playing with mud and rainwater.

So that leaves lunchbreak, and today I didn't get out of the building. By the time I'd got home and remembered that I was supposed to be taking a photo, it was dark. So I went to put away a calendar I'd bought for next year, and found this year's calendar on my desk. It features scenes by the Czech artist Josef Lada. I have blipped his work before. You can read more about Honza, or Jack, here. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honza
I had to take the shot under the kitchen lights, with the flash turned off, so it hasn't turned out quite as badly as it might have. Soon it'll be dark most of the time. Deep joy!

I lived and worked in the Czech Republic from 1992-3, where I first discovered Josef Lada. Now I'm learning another Slavic language: very basic Polish, for work purposes. Surprisingly, it is helping. I am understanding more of what actual Polish people say to me, even though on the 'course' I am only learning phrases parrot fashion. It has occurred to me that maybe I should now look for a Polish folk artist whose work I like. After that, maybe a trip to Krakow....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.