My little superstar!

I was up with the lark.. in the park..and it was National Poetry Day...
I was intrigued and moved by the stories on Radio 2 today... Chris Evans chatted with the 'Emergency Poet' who has a 1970s ambulance, you make an appointment regarding an ailment.. and she prescribes a poem as treatment.
Then there was a fascinating talk about how poetry connects with dementia sufferers - it moved me to tears.
They played 'The Lark Ascending whilst I was in the car..composed in 1914 and held dear as a thought of 'home' during WW1 - I drove around and round the block until it had finished.

For singing till his heaven fills
'T is love of earth that he instils
And ever winging up and up
Our valley is his golden cup
And he the wine which overflows
To lift us with him as he goes
The woods and brook, the sheep and kine
He is, the hills, the human line
The meadows green, the fallows brown
The dreams of labour in the town....  

I've googled... it goes on a bit! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.