fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Magical Art Tour

Art enables us to find ourselves and lose ourselves at the same time.
(Thomas Merton)


Today I have been out with my friend Sheila who I've mentioned before. We have been doing part of The Art Tour - an event in Northumberland where many artists open their studios to the public. It was my first time on the tour, and I found it fascinating to see the artists working in their native habitats!

My photo is my favourite postcards of the work of Dorothy Lawrenson. Her work appears at first to be very simple in style and yet it conveys so much, particularly her figures that you can see on her website.She was our main destination of the day, but we then bumbled along the country lanes in Sheila's car waiting to see where we would end up.

During the day we went to the Garden Station (an old railway station which has been turned into a beautiful garden and cafe serving all kinds of deliciousness), Hexham Abbey where there were a few more artists working and displaying their work, and then of course another cafe!

In the car we chatted endlessly and listened to Suzanne Vega, with this moving track repeated several times.

I spent over 2 hours trying to create a 'collage' of 2 pictures of different dimensions, but neither my editing software nor any of the online photo-editing sites I found would allow me to do this. Apparently they have to be the same size and shape :o(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.