LadyYakAlot

By LadyYakAlot

At a crossroad

I love this busy little pedestrian sign in the centre of Bury, it sums up what a lovely town it is to go shopping in. Hailing from Ipswich and being proud of my roots I have always enjoyed shopping in my home town until around 10 years ago when not working in the town I have turned to internet shopping and only using the town as a last resort. But I haven’t enjoyed my visits as so many shops are closing down and it appears run down. Granted the historical buildings and history attached to them are there but the shopping experience isn’t fun.
Since working in Bury for the past year I have come to love the town for the shopping experience, and the buildings and wealth of   history is amazing too. It must have been good because my wedding dress came from here!! What I love most is the diversity of shops. There is the Arc with the bulk of the main-stream modern shops, but there are the whole mix of one-off individual shops which make shopping such fun.
So this little sign truly sums up the many different things you can see around the centre. It was unseasonably warm again with that brilliant clear blue sky, so it was a delight to potter in town at lunchtime. It was a much needed picked me up from the grind of the office … and even managed a couple of sneaky purchases from M&S!!

A traffic issue in the evening dimmed my delight at the quaint town as it struggled to cope with the detouring traffic, but only a little as I still managed to get home in good time! A wardrobe sort out completed my evening chores so that I could sit down and relax with the soaps & some TV before a much needed early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.