Water Lily Art

It was time to go back to visit the lily pond. It is sad to think that the days of the lilies are numbered. First frost is generally expected in central Pennsylvania around the middle of October, and that marks the end of their blooming season.

I am attracted to the lily pond especially in the mornings. I have watched - can it be this many? - hundreds of sunrises there over the past several years of its existence. (Dear lily pond, I have loved you since you were born!) But each of them is special to me, as are the individual lilies on the pond.

If you come by the lily pond early on a weekday morning, you may often find me here, kneeling by the lily pond, moving this way and that, left and right, up and down with my camera. I am using every approach, every angle I can think of, to capture the coolest combinations of patterns and colors and backgrounds and shapes and reflections. This is my water lily art, and it lives (as art always does!) at the intersection of what I have found and what I have made of it. . . .

The song to accompany this image is an old one by Peter, Paul, and Mary. There is a line in the song that talks about not missing the fairest flower that is standing right by you very still. Take their good advice; don't miss the show! Peter, Paul, and Mary: Such Is Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.