The Peace of Wild Things

Blue sky and sunshine, so a lunchtime walk was in order, if only to the supermarket ! And, after work, a late-afternoon walk on the Common (again!) The last of the sun was lighting up the trees.

To Lowick this evening for a Modern Jive class - new to me, and great fun. MrM declined to join me! Wonder if he can be persuaded?!

It's National Poetry Day --

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children's lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting for their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free. 


Wendell Berry

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.