Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Orphan of a different kind

Just over 12 months ago I turned 40 and made a list of 40 things to do when I'm 40. One of those things on the list was to do a year blip blog. I think I managed a couple of entries before I gave up. Can we just say I've delayed things a year?
During the last 2 years of my life I have been blessed with some wonderful experiences through work which has led to my present day situation. The last two years involved working in Kenya with vulnerable children who have suffered unimaginable horror. I was lucky to work with some truly fantastic people along the way, and without a doubt it has had a huge impact on my life.
Yesterday I arrived in Kenya to embark on a 7 week adventure at a kenyan orphanage (Restartafrica.org) I really have no idea what the 7 weeks is going to involve, and now I've actually arrived I'm somewhat apprehensive. I'm spending a couple of days in Nairobi before heading out to the orphanage. My plan is to blip blog every day for the duration out here to capture the memories as an online diary.
Today I went to an orphanage of a different kind, an elephant sanctuary in Nairobi. How can anyone not smile when seeing a baby elephant. It was wonderful to see the groups of young school children interacting so closely with the elephants. No cages or bars in sight. A big two fingers up to health and safety, which doesn't really exist out here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.