Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

First Light over Farne

[Back Blip]

After the moderate success of an early morning shoot on the beach at Dunstanburgh, I decided I would get up early and drive up to Bamburgh for the sunrise, so the alarm was set for 4.30 and I silently unzipped my tent and jumped in to my car and drove off.

The beach was deserted when I arrived, but the castle was floodlit and the Moon and Venus were out (see extra).

I tried various compositions, while waiting for the sunrise to develop. The sun was rising way out to sea beyond the Farne Islands, and a bit too far away to include with the castle, so I settled on this composition with some rocks on the beach and looking out over the sea to Farne.

I then went back to the campsite for breakfast and then we walked from the campsite down to the beach and then along the coast to Dunstanburgh Castle and then onto Craster where we joined in with the singing of Jerusalem on the harbour side to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of the creation of the WI. We then carried on down to Cullernose Point before returning via the Jolly Fisherman for lunch (wonderful chips!) and then back to the campsite. A very enjoyable walk in wonderful weather.

I have processed this image using some new techniques that I learnt at a recent RPS lecture day in a brilliant lecture presented by Paul Gallagher.

I think it looks good large against the black background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.