Naked Ladies

Busy day doing some research.  I chose the thumbnail so the Naked Ladies could hide  -  they suddenly appeared at the bottom of my garden several years ago and have stayed ever since. Their other name is Autumn Crocus (Colchicum autumnale).  Although its extracts have been used for medical therapies (e.g. cure for gout) it is also a killer and deaths due to accidental poisoning have been recorded.  There's a one minute video on it HERE.  Sadly my blip is a bit thin and ragged as they are past their best - they have been in bloom for about three weeks  -  but I have wanted to blip them this year.  Should have done it earlier in September but other things got in the way lol!  Dull, cold day and according to the weather forecaste we are not due for sun until Monday:-(   Have a nice evening, Everyone!  Oh, my extra is what was happening in the field at the bottom of my garden while I was photographing the Naked Ladies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.