Arvin and Evelyn

I think I mentioned that I am putting together a presentation for Arvin on his new iPad mini to help him remember as his memories fade. The app I'm using is called Greymatters and it is designed for people with memory issues. I've already made many slides of his life and mine. I didn't have many old pictures and had none of him and his first wife Evelyn. Then Helena reminded me that I had stored her photo composite of her family while she lives in a place that doesn't allow picture hangers in the walls. So this morning I hunted down the composite and photographed all of the tiny photos.

Arvin married Evelyn when she was 18 and he was 21. They met in Brooklyn but moved up to "the country" soon after they married. They had two daughters, Helena being the younger. I am glad that I now can put some reminders in Arvin's story of his life before me. He and Evelyn were married for 25 years, a long time and a history worth documenting. They were in the process of divorcing when I met Arvin. It was not an easy time for any of us. But now it is so many years later that it feels like history to me. There is no more sting and only compassion for the difficulties of life as they come to everybody. Times to get through with as much grace and love as possible. I wish everybody the courage to do the best they can during times of difficulty and transition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.