Plus ça change...

By SooB

Harvest

Whatever kind of crazy settings I had on my camera meant that the shots of the fig harvest taken outside, carefully staged and in beautiful light, are awful.  So you can have a little bit of a shot of CarbBoy pretending to be FruitBoy.  Figs are one of his fruits.  Apples are the other one.  From time to time he will tolerate a strawberry, and he is partial once or twice a year to some blackberries.  Actually he quite likes cherries too.  When I put it like that, it feels like he likes fruit quite a lot, but portion sizes are never very large.  This fig, for example, is this year's fig.  Next year, we'll see.

Prior to the huge harvest (7 small figs, but I'm happy) I was up earlier than my rubbish sleep would normally dictate to see the builders onto the premises.  The rest of the day saw lots of banging, crashing, dust and mayhem.  But now the bit of upstairs that you could still fall through is solid.  I suspect it may in fact be the most solid floor in the house. (And a plaque will be put there naming it the "Mme Tepeka (nearly) Memorial Floor".)

Later, a very enjoyable trip to the market, including a long and productive chat with the wine folk.  And the afternoon largely spent trying to get the veg garden in some sort of order.  I have decided, at a too-busy time of year, to do a veg gardening course, and fear that at some point the tutor will want to see a photo of my plot.  So, some panicked path laying and industrial weeding...  And tomorrow I have an assignment to hand in.  Eek.

Some rugby watching was filtered into the day including (after a very helpful text from my birthday-girl sister) the last part of the Scotland-Samoa match.  Very exciting, though a little too close for my taste. 

Tomorrow I will spend my day enjoying the heat rather than complaining about it.  It is not great to work in, but I believe it's fabulous for sitting down in with a good book and a cool drink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.