Plus ça change...

By SooB

Monster

Dreadful day, salvaged only by hard work and roast chicken.

Horrible dreams had me awake at 5am, heart pounding. Not even the Archers could get me to sleep again. At 7 I put down my book and got up, only to fall straight back down. I was dizzy, nauseous and unable to stand up until about 1pm. Not a fun way to spend a morning. (Though happily I can report that the Archers Omnibus (third time I had heard them all) finally did the trick at getting me some sleep.)

I did manage some sitting in the garden with a cool drink (though it was water rather than anything more fun), and then salvaged the day with lots of work. After all, if I'm going to have a lazy day sitting in the sun, I want to be on top form to enjoy it. So, the deck is mainly done, dirty clothes were processed, logs were sawed and progress was made on a planning application.

Actually, I have been looking, in idle moments, for the planning documents all week when today I figured I might as well check in the filing cabinet. Turns out I made a special file for them and everything! Perhaps I've been dream filing. Would explain some of the nightmares...

A roast dinner to make up with the kids, who I had shouted at earlier (justifiably, but somewhat monsterishly). Am I totally out of touch? Do kids now get away with doing nothing around the house? I'm not asking them to redecorate or clear dead mice out of traps, just put a plate in the dishwasher from time to time and occasionally arrange it so I can be reminded that their bedrooms have floors.

Anyway, I am feeling on more of an even keel tonight and will hopefully be 100% tomorrow. It's a bit of a wake up call, being debilitated like that.

Here's something from Minecraft world (Dracula, at a guess). Apparently something went wrong top left, hence CarbBoy has discarded it here. And is a useful reminder to get on with the kids' Halloween costumes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.