Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

G+T's at The Barbican.

Maggie and I went off to the V+A this morning, had a meander around their new "Shoes: Pleasure and Pain" Exhibition then a bit of lunch. Afterwards I went back to our hotel for a much needed sleep and Mags went shopping in town before we got ready to go to the Barbican. Did I mention we're going to see Hamlet?

Hamlet.

Hamlet was outstanding. I really can't describe how brilliant it was and not just because Ben was incredible (which of course he was) but the rest of the cast were pretty good too! The design of the set is gorgeous, it's an experience in itself, really beautifully done with a kind of glorious decaying elegance to it. The whole thing was just amazing to see up close, totally spellbinding. And being in the second row we could see everything! I think my heart may have stopped beating momentarily when the curtain came up and Hamlet was just sitting there on the stage about a metre from us! And then he spoke...I may have sat for the next 3 hours completely mesmerised...
Now, I know people will take what I say with a pinch of salt because I'm such a fan but Benedict was extraordinarily good, he totally throws himself into it and becomes the role and it's an utter joy to watch, if there was anything I would say a little bit against the production it's that everyone else kind of pales in comparison. It's not their fault, they are all consummate actors in their own right, but he's just....better!
All in all it was wonderful.

I can't believe it's all over now, I've been waiting for this for this since I booked the tickets over a year ago. I'm now totally suffering from I-saw-Ben-in-the-flesh-and-it-was-magical-but-now-it's-over-and-i-have-nothing-to-look-forward-to-anymore blues. It's a bit of a come down!

Thankfully Mary and I are going to see it at the cinema at the end of the month (National Theatre Live) so it'll be interesting to see how different the experience is after being in the theatre. I'm actually really looking forward to seeing it again.


Steps - 11591

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.