No 2 Autographic

I don't normally frequent charity shops, but I was passing one in Chipping Norton yesterday and saw this vintage folding camera in the window, going for not much money. I was slightly naughty with the young assistant in the shop. Picking up this 100-year-old manual camera, I asked her "Do you know how many megapixels it has?". "Erm, I don't know. I don't think we've got the manual". 

Anyway, it's mine now, and free from the best part of a century's dust and grime it looks beautiful. Interestingly, although it doesn't have any megapixels, this was the first camera in the world to store metadata. It comes with a little stylus, and you can open up a small window on the back of the camera and (if you have the right film) scribe a line of notes directly onto the film. The notes show up in a panel below each image. Neat for its day. I'm going to try it with 120 roll film and see what I can get out of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.