And still more..and more...and more...

The main picture today is the charmingly named Milkmaids (Burchardia umbellata), complete with a little green bush fly.  We had fog up here this morning, and some of my images (pretty much those at ground level) still held on to the droplets of moisture.

No orchids today though, not really enough time to go hunting.

And I'd hate for you all to think that I'm some sort of walking bush encyclopaedia.  I'm not, but I do spend a lot of time with my nose buried inside a book, trying to ID these things.  Then I follow that up with a web search of images just to try and confirm what I think.  Many of these flowers are so similar, for example the peas, hibbertias and the goodenias.  I blame DNA myself.

Anyway, there's a selection in extras:  a yam daisy (native not an import), a red parrot-pea, a twiggy bush pea, and a matted bush pea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.