The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Chợ Hội An

I walked around the vibrant and bustling market, full of fantastic photo opportunities (hence the three extra photos). It's not a relaxing place to be as you have to constantly fend off people trying to sell you something, usually by shouting for your attention. Hoi An is definitely a gorgeous city, I just wish there was less tourism.

In the evening I decided to get away from the tourist side of the city and went in search of some street food where the locals eat. I quickly found a busy street corner with a stall selling Hủ Tiếu noodles. I sat down at one of the tiny tables and two girls at the next table started speaking to me. The were students and their English was excellent. It started to rain so we joined tables underneath some tarpaulin. They were picked up by their mum to avoid the rain and as they left they told me that they'd paid for my dinner! I tried to object but they said it was their custom to pay and their pleasure. Acts of random kindness like this is surprisingly common in Vietnam; there are so many lovely people here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.