The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Huế

I got a bus from Hoi An to Huế and walked around the main backpacker area looking for a suitable hotel. I ended up paying slightly more than normal (220,000d / £6.50 per night) but got a really nice room. Living it up!

After spending a couple of hours researching local food, I walked over a bridge to a street like lots of cơm hến restaurants. Cơm hến is a Huế speciality (probably the second favourite after bún bò Huế) consisting of tiny clams/mussels with rice, soup and various other things. It's very popular with locals, especially as it's only 10,000d (30p) for a bowl. I went to two different places on that road and there wasn't too much of a difference between them other than the second version had the soup separately, presumably so the customer can choose how much liquid they want to add.

This girl wanted me to spread the word about her restaurant, "Cơm hến Tý Hon".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.