Leiflife

By Leiflife

Sweet Sunday

Sometimes one simply has to follow a cat to see how sweet life can be. Pearl certainly knows how to be in the moment. Out for our morning meander, Music, Pearl, and I are pretty much in our own separate worlds, especially on Sunday when the Shearwater showroom doesn't open until one. Music is slow, stopping often to sniff for other animals, or simply to stare into space in his old dog way. He tends to follow the same route. Pearl tends to follow Music at first, as though she feels responsible for his well being. She may take her cue from me. Then she veers off, attracted by sound or movement, needing to explore. Pearl prowls...or crouches and twitches as though to pounce, then races madly across the ground to vanish into the bushes.

This Sunday morning, I followed Pearl, half-heartedly keeping my camera ready for photographic possibilities, and when she lay down in the sun-drenched grass, rolling and reaching in my direction, I crouched low and participated in her pleasure...in my own way. She can be shy of the camera, but this time she seemed to be reaching and inviting, giving me all she had to give of her feline pleasure. She told me of hot sunlight and cool grass. She showed me how fine it feels to roll on a small rough patch of bare earth before drifting off for a sweet short nap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.