Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Staring down the barrel of a bass

Shameless arty selfie alert. Couldn't resist it due to the MonoMonday theme today being "Rock". So what else could I do except something musical, and thinking vintage this old Hofner violin bass, colloquially known as the 'Beatle Bass' had to be a win.

This bass has history, not just generically because of the obvious Beatles connection, but this particular bass has history, having passed through a particularly successful band in the 70s where I gather it appeared on some classic releases. I can't tell you specifically which ones, but I'm guessing someone on my facebook stream may well know.

It's a beautiful instrument, and wonderful to play. I've recorded it a few times in the past but never played it out live. One day maybe I will, good instruments deserve to get out there once in a while.

I did once audition for the part of Paul McCartney in a Beatles tribute band in the 90s and I turned up with this thinking I would be a shoo-in for the job. But alas, after being impressed with my singing and playing they asked if I could play it left-handed. That is, play it upside down like Pull McCarthorse does. Being severely un-left-handed I explained it doesn't really work like that. And that was that.

I did briefly have another Beatles tribute band while I was learning the craft. We were called 'The Dung Beatles'. Named so, because we were a bit s***. But that's another story ;)

C

Thanks once again to Nickimags888 for hosting the MonoMondays this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.