A Snapshot a Day

By AgathasMum

Happy Birthday To Me!

Things never quite go as planned....

My first birthday with the family in at least 26 years, and I had big plans to follow the DH Lawrence Blue Line Trail, have a glass of prosecco at the Lady Chatterley and wander around Eastwood and remind myself why I left!!!

I've not been up to par the last few days with allergies and yesterday I had the vomitting bug which came on spectacularly quickly in the brand new rental car... Overnight I had a bad earache and headache and with the prospect of a flight looming on Friday I thought I'd better see a doctor today. Long story short I got to try out the NHS as a health tourist and I was rather impressed. A free doctor visit and only 8 pounds for a prescription. Brilliant!

So here we I am with my parents and Tom later in the evening. We'd planned to eat at a Thai restaurant but as my stomach was still tender we ended up at a pub for some hearty grease instead. They had a twofer on and it seemed the more food we ordered, the lower the bill got! I had breaded garlic mushrooms to start and breaded plaice and chips to follow. magic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.