Saturday Morning Hockey

Miss E had her first hockey match this morning. She was very excited and we all set off at 9am, planning to meet Nana and Papa there.
We didn't realise how cold it was until we got out. The wind was bitter. Thank God I found my coat in the boot and had grabbed Miss E's sweatshirt as I was running out of the door. Just in case!
I had an inkling of how it was going to go when Miss E's PE teacher (who doesn't take them for hockey) asked them all what positions they usually play in and was met with blank stares!
They were playing on an enormous pitch with full sized goals and the opposition team looked like an olympic squad compared to us! 
It started badly for Miss E when she started off as a substitute. She had to just stand and watch getting colder and colder. And looking sad that she'd been left out. I know someone had to be but it was still rubbish!!
Things didn't get any better when she eventually went on. She was obviously freezing, got told to take her sweatshirt off and and just stood catatonic at the back hardly moving. Looking as if she was simultaneously about to cry, wet herself and collapse. 
It was horrendous to watch. It was all I could do to stop myself running the full length of the pitch to her, wrap her in a blanket and take her home.
I can imagine some people would think I was being ridiculous - she should toughen up, run round a bit to warm up, stop being such a baby.
Well she's my baby and she was suffering and it was heartbreaking.
During the break she put her sweatshirt back on and we tried to get to her to move around a bit to warm up. She just couldn't!
I told her to keep her sweatshirt on and tell the teacher I had said so! She was moved to a slightly more active position and it was made one good clearance and set up a good scoring chance and it was marginally less awful.
We got hammered despite some of our girls being really good. And we had two goals disallowed!
My mum had been to the car boot sale in the morning and had her hot water bottle with her. As soon as Miss E had had her post match juice and biscuit she stuffed the hot water bottle up her jumper and started to perk up a bit.
Mummy's coat, cake and Fanta in the Antiques Centre helped too!
She talked about how she hadn't done anything good which broke my heart again. It doesn't matter!!!!!!!!
The rest of the day was taken up with homework, pancake eating and Strictly watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.