The Honor of Penrith

These are the gates to the Frenchfield Sports Centre on the edge of Penrith. I wonder how many people going through the gates to play football or take part in a park run etc., know what on earth the sign is about. I certainly didn't until I found out. Not that I have ever played football or taken part in a parkrun! But I did walk through the playing fields today to find if there is access to the River Eamont - there isn't, not really!

 
The story
In the 11th century Cumbria was part of Scotland, until 1092 when William Rufus brought the area under English rule. Not surprisingly the Scots continued to claim this region as their own and embarked on a series of devastating raids into Cumbria in an effort to regain control.
 
In 1242 a compromise was reached, whereby the Scots agreed to relinquish their claim in return for having jurisdiction over several 'manors', of which Penrith was one. These manors were collectively known as the 'Honor of Penrith'. In medieval times an 'honor' consisted of a number of manors that could be scattered over a wide area.
 
An official seal was created that acknowledged the town's strong links with Scotland. It displays the Scottish cross of St Andrew (who is also the patron saint of the Parish Church.) The words round the edge translate as: Common Seal of the Town of Penrith.
 
The seal was used on letters and official documents for a long time, but then it disappeared. It was eventually found, by chance and is now in Penrith Museum. The seal was adopted as Penrith's coat of arms and apparently it appears all over the town in some form or another. I can't say I have ever noticed it!
 
And if Scotland should ever become independent, I hope they will remember this bit of history and annex us to them again. No one in Westminster would care or even notice. I don't think many of them know we are here anyway.
 



Oh dear! Oh dear!
I have just found out the winner of the Booker Prize - the one book I didn't want to read - do I now read it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.