Paw

When I got home from work Wilson was nestled on my old swandrai I've laid on the cushions on the spare bed. Both eyes looked at me and gave a slow blink to say hello and welcome home.

One paw was extended and as I lay on the bed and patted him, it opened and closed with pleasure. Wilson quietly purred and gave a couple of small meows as I patted him.

At the end of today I feel at peace. His usual vet (otherwise known as his Personal Physician) is back involved and I'm more comfortable with her. I had been feeling stressed and pressured - albeit unintentionally, to keep running tests, poking, prodding etc.

Like me, the usual vet is a pragmatist. She also listens to me. She wasn't on duty on Monday when he needed an appointment, but has intervened this afternoon. From her review of the test results Wilson is now on two antibiotics. This should deal the infection detected in his wees.

But there won't be more tests to determine which bug, and we won't be repeating the same blood and wee tests in a few weeks. Her approach is simple and I like that. Wilson may have a low grade infection that has made him feel awful. Or, he may have a tumor.

There would have to me more tests and scans to determine this. Having a fancy name to call it won't change anything. The tests did show his kidneys are fine. The couple of elevated results and wees potentially point to an underlying pathology.

So we laugh and cry, love and live. Wilson will have what he needs, but he won't have pointless tests, interventions or anything else that stresses him or me.

Enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.