FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Hiding in the book shop

Feeling uninspired by the soup I packed for lunch I decided to nip out of the office for a walk. A rain shower soon ruined that idea so I sheltered in Waterstone's book shop instead.

I glanced through the historical medieval books and spotted the latest book by Alison Weir. I worked with her last August when Leeds Castle hosted a speakers day with female historical writers as part of the Medieval Festival.

The note by the Waterstone's reviewer on Alison's latest book said "Gripping and brilliantly researched." This reminded me of the conversation I had with Alison and the other guest authors Amy Licence and Lauren Mackay about the challenges of research. I have unread books by all three that I simply MUST read.

I spotted a few books that would be great for my dad and brother for Christmas as well as a whole load more I'd love for myself!

This book cover really caught my attention - aeroplanes - and the synopsis sounds great too. Set during the reign of Edward VII during World War One, the heroine has to chose between a flying ace and errr forgotten the other character!

So I may well be asking Father Christmas for some books this year, more in extra pics if you're listening.

Back to the office for research on a business traveller theme rather than a medieval one....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.