On the Peripheral

Here is Chirpy trying to offer support and advice (and sneak a quick meal worm from my stash) as I struggle to think of something positive to say about the book we're discussing at the book club tonight - The Peripheral by William Gibson. Sci-fi and cyperpunk (whatever that is) are not my thing I fear for try as I did, I could make head nor tail of it. It was all about gaming as far as I could work out and full of obscure jargon and hordes of characters, non of whom I could remember. Interestingly, many book club members have cried off tonight. Maybe Chirpy is finding it wild and richly satisfying - or perhaps that's just the grub.

Last night's film Timbuktu on the other hand was exceptional. The photography and story telling was exemplary- huge, long sweeping shots and a gentle, fairly nonjudgmental yet piercing and unflinching look at an increasingly devastating situation - Jihadists arriving into a peaceful, devout community and destroying all the good things that are being human. At one point the whole cinema just cried out. Insanity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.