Postcard from Christchurch

I had my Spin Class this afternoon. My freind still isn't well and didn't feel like going today. She said she was going to go to the doctor tomorrow.. hope she does.

After class I dropped of in the city for a short walk around to catch up on what's happing since I was last there. It was a lovely sunny day but there was a really chilly easterly blowing to keep it very cool.

The shot on the Top Left is our Transitional 'Cardboard' Cathedral designed by Shigeru Ban. Here is my album in my Flickr shots showing the buildings of the Cardboard Cathedral.

The shot Top Middle is of Spires a sculpture by Canterbury artist Neil Dawson in Latimer Square. Top right is where buildings stood before the earthquakes. Still no buildings have gone up there.. I think this is the area they want to put the new stadium... if it ever gets of the ground!

The shots in the Middle show you how much more work needs doing in the rebuild of the city. Centre Middle is of some wonderful flowers that were in the cafe when I stopped for coffee. They looked so beautiful and thought ..a little pink for Pink October.

The mural Bottom Left is on Calendar Girls building which is to come down shortly as Calendar Girls night Club is moving to Victoria Street. The shot Bottom Right is the rebuild and repair of the Christchurch Club.  The building is protected as a Category 1 Historic Place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.