TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Swamp Sunflowers Gazing

I stopped by the PSU Arboretum today following an early afternoon appointment in State College, with the intent to possibly take some pics of the earliest entries for their yearly Pumpkin Festival. This event features a jack-o'- lantern carving contest, lighted nighttime displays and family activities. 
The  main event, the lighted display, happens Friday and Saturday evening but there is rain in the forecast and I'm not too enthusiastic about slogging around in puddles, so I thought I'd have a quick look-see today just in case. While I did see several beautiful carved pumpkins, I just did not see a good photo op. 
What did most certainly catch my eye was a small stand of the most beautiful, brilliant swamp sunflowers. I snapped several really lovely photos but this is the one I like the most. The lemony blooms are turned to one side, facing upward as though they are yearning to be united with the clouds and bright blue sky above.
Check out the 'Extra Photos' section for a pic of one of the artfully designed and carved pumpkins that was on display there today.

Ode To Some Yellow Flowers


Against the blue moving its own blue,
the sea, and against the sky,
some yellow flowers.

October arrives.

And though it may be
so important for the sea to unroll
its myth, its mission, its yeast-like inspiration,
there explodes
over the sand the gold
of a single yellow plant
and your eyes
are fixed
on the ground,
they flee from the great sea and its rhythms.

We are and will be dust.

Not air, not fire, nor water
but
earth,
only earth
we will be
and maybe also
some yellow flowers.



~ Pablo Neruda

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.