The seals are back!

My little local storm beach is currently hosting three pups and, intermittently their parents too.
 While the babies slumber on the shingle swaddled in fat and fur their mothers lounge close by, occasionally inching their way across the pebbles and into the water where one or two males wait, keen to get on with the business of creating next year's infants. The mating behaviour of seals (see extra pic) is an aggressive contrast to the placidity of the nursing couple: snarling, barking, twisting, splashing and biting briefly disturb the harmony until the excitement subsides and peace returns to the nursery cove.

I'm backblipping again but can report that my internet connection has finally been restored (Oct. 16th). It will take me a while to catch up with you all but meanwhile thank you for your comments and stars.  I'm looking forward to seeing what I've missed - as far as is humanly possible!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.