Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Escaping from the law

Meet Wanjiru (aka Terri) who is a law student studying at Nairobi University. She is currently on a volunteer break at the Restart Orphanage, and has been here for the last month. Having seen her interacting with the nursery tots in the picture I think she may be contemplating a career change, the children adore her. After a busy morning in the office I finally got to go up to Restart and spent a good three hours with the kids. Dan the social worker took me up on the back of his motorbike. The first hour or so was spent with the nursery kids, they really are cuties. I then spent the remainder time with the 4 to 10 year olds. I opened up the library and took half a dozen of the children in to read them stories. Little Elizabeth wrote down ten phrases of kiswahili to learn overnight. I sense I may get a scolding tomorrow. Time ran away and it was soon dark. Kenya is right on the equator for those that didn't realise, it goes dark at 6pm and daylight arrives at 6am. I had a steady walk back to where I staying through the small town of Langalanga, which really comes alive in the dark. It's only a mile and a half walk at most, and I didn't get bitten by a single mozzie for a change, thank god for jungle formula. I spent the entire walk talking to a local chap who was heading in the same direction as me. Tomorrow the children are putting on a talent contest, consisting of dancing, singing, poetry, and public speaking. This contest is taking place every Saturday for the next few weeks. I have been invited to be on the judging panel. That's going to be tough! !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.