Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Talent show judging

This afternoon I spent 3 hours judging a talent show involving 100 children from the Restart Africa orphanage. Probably one of the hardest tasks I have ever been given as I wanted to put all of them through to the semi final next week. It was great. The categories included 'fine art' (aka colouring in) poetry reading, public speaking, singing, rapping, dancing, drumming. For the entire 3 hours I grinned from ear to ear. All the children got involved and were so passionate about what they were doing. At one point I even had a tear in my eye!!!! I think I'm going soft in my old age. I can honestly say it was one of the most enjoyable and uplifting Saturday afternoons I've had in many years. It was far more entertaining than any of the talent shows we see on TV every Saturday night. Real life at it's finest!
It turns out I'm really not a good judge, I got far too engrossed in the enjoyment to make any notes. Luckily the head judge was a bit more organised and scribbled a few comments down to assist the decisions. The picture above is of the Gilgil acrobatic team who were visiting for the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.