Shropsiren

By shropsiren

Restart Rugby Kenya style

Well what a busy day I've had. First thing I was picked up by a music teacher from the local international prep school who took me on the back of his motorbike up to the orphanage. There we spent time having choir practice in preparation for an upcoming joint event next month with the prep school. One of the boys had captured an elephant beetle and proceeded to terrorise me with it for about an hour. It was huge!!! For those who know me I'm not very good with creepy crawlies at the best of times!
I didn't sing during the choir practice as I am tone deaf and sound like the cats chorus, so I can't be blamed for the two hour thunder storm and torrential rain that followed. Prior to leaving I had a couple of laps round the field riding the motorbike. Unfortunately it's been two years since I last had my hand on a throttle. The torrential rain made for an exciting ride back on the motorbike to my lodgings. Needless to say I was drenched when I got back.
Back to Mary's for one of her delicious lunches, then  back up to the orphanage for the afternoon to greet our visitors. We have a group of a dozen or so British school children who are out here for twelve days working with various charities. They were aged around 16/17 years and came armed with rugby balls, tennis balls, and footballs. They did a fitness session in the dining hall for about 30 minutes with the 100 plus children from the orphanage. They then went outside and played volleyball and a bit of rugby with the kids. It was great to see the visitors interacting with the children from the orphanage. For many of the visitors it was their first trip to Kenya/ Africa. I know that they were very moved by what they had seen at the orphanage and no doubt the experience will have a profound and positive impact on their lives. They will be visiting again later in the week all being well. The orphanage children love having visitors.
Tomorrow we have visitors from another school, and by pure coincidence I happen to know one of the boys who is visiting. It's a small world as they say. 
I thought the rugby picture was apt as whilst I edited it I was watching the RWC Scotland v Australia game. Bad luck Scotland!
So if you are ever in the Gilgil area of Kenya, the children would love to have you visit!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.