Shropsiren

By shropsiren

It's a tiny world

Today has been another busy day. This morning started with an hours workout with evil Marvin. He is a nice guy until he gets into physical instructor mode then he almost makes me cry. Today was arms day involving lots of press ups and now I am struggling to type.
Later we had a visit from a dozen or so pupils from The Shrewsbury School. The pupils are all part of the schools running team and they are here to do some high altitude training amongst other things. I'm 4000 miles away in the middle of nowhere in Kenya and a school from the town where I live decides to visit us. As coincidence would have it I happen to know one of the chaps on  the visit. Shrewsbury School has long been connected with the Restart orphanage and they recently did a treadmill running challenge to raise funds for the children. They spent a couple of hours at the orphanage with the children. They received a full tour of the place and then spent an hour in the nursery classroom colouring in pictures and doing jigsaws with the toddlers. As the weather cleared up they then went outside to play a bit of rugby and football with the older children.
Next Marvin the physical instructor decided to put them all through their paces with a bit of  PT. I decided I'd done enough working out so stood on the sidelines to take photos. I took over 100 pictures during the visit, there were other pictures that were much better than the one I chose but I felt this represented the two groups of youngsters coming together in one activity where social background, language and race played no part. The visitors were enjoying themselves so much they extended the visit for longer than they should have. No doubt they will have fond memories of their visit and spread the word about the orphanage and the fundraising that is required to keep it going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.