... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Moorhenling: more feathery...

I've just back blipped yesterday.

I bring glad tidings from two ponds:
1. All three moorhenlings are still alive and well on Eagle Pond, Clapham Common. I'd only been able to spy two of them on my last few visits, which had me worrying, but I suppose one is just (even) more skittish than the other two. That is quite an achievement, because the other two are spectacularly skittish: I spent a while photographing them today, and every time I moved they'd either get into "ready to RUN" pose, or would actually scarper... They'd reappear, but only until I next shifted slightly again.
No wonder moorhens are nicknamed skitty coots.
Anyway, I'm posting this to show just how much they've grown; they're now no longer just downy but starting to become quite feathery, and are now looking like much more moorhenlike moorhenlings.

2. I also revisited the little pond on Wandsworth Common (the pond on which "The Heron Incident" took place), and the two remaining coot nests now have cootlings! One nest has one quite little cootling, and the other has two tiny cootlings! They're the smallest ones I've yet seen that weren't just hiding in the nest. I took quite a few photos of them today, but they were a long way from the water's edge, so were a bit too small to blip. I'm now really considering becoming a full member so that I can blip photos with finer detail safe in the knowledge that it will still be visible on "large".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.