Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Fall Blooming Crocus

I seem to be in a ho hum sort of mood about a blip today. It being Friday, however, I figured I could just go out and snap a flower and be done with it. So that's what I did. There are some Fall blooming Croci out in my yard, so I just trotted over and snapped a pic and called it done. I do notice, however, that there's the tiniest little feather caught on the anthers of one of them. Plus some bits of dried brown leaves in there (from the last time I mowed - a few days ago). I rather like the little feather.

The extra is a new patient at The Wildlife Center of Virginia - a Peregrine Falcon. He just arrived yesterday and is waiting until he's a bit more stable to take some more radiographs and determine what needs fixing, and if/how it can be managed. Probably surgery for him on Sunday or Monday. I believe the vet said something about a "luxated *primary* joint" which would be the joint of one of his *fingers.* Evidently even if that has to be frozen, he would still likely be able to fly. Or worst case scenario, be able to live pain free as an education bird. Anyway - what a face! They're wonderful birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.