Igreja Paroquial São Pedro, Ponta Delgada

I realised that today was our last full day and I hadn't done a blip of any traditional Azorean buildings so here's the Parish Church of St Peter which dominates the skyline near the marina. Lots of the buildings here are clad in white render with black basalt stone details especially religious buildings.

I had a pretty lazy day today. My mum headed off on the bus to visit Villa Franco Do Campo, while Roz and the girls headed out shopping. After wandering about to get a blip I took advantage of the sun being out to head down to the shore and go for a swim. There are fresh water municipal pools there but they close at the end of September so the only option was the marked off swimming area in the sea. Actually technically it's not in the sea at all it's in the ocean given that we're in the mid atlantic. It was only about 20 - 21 degrees but the water was pretty nice once you were in so I spent a fair bit of time swimming and sun bathing. Too much as it turns out as I'm pretty burnt now. I guess I shouldn't have tried to keep up with all the locals who were down there in the sunbathing stakes as they get this sort of sun all year round.

A last meal at the local pizzeria tonight and I had a couple of beers with it and that's when I realised I'd had a bit too much sun.

Anyway we're flying home early afternoon tomorrow and I'll miss the place. we'll have to come back again some time soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.