Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Recovery Room

Look at those slits I have for eyes.  The first words out of my mouth when I woke up in recovery after my hand surgery (I had a general anesthesia) was, "Would you take my picture, please?" The nurse didn't hesitate.

We were scheduled to be at the hospital at 10:30 am but I received a call a few moments after I woke up at 7:00.  The patient scheduled before me had canceled and they asked me to come in as soon as possible. We arrived an hour early but I was late to be discharged because I was slow to reach an acceptable level of ouchie.

I guess it went well.  They talk to your "family," which meant my friends and mom.  Nobody told me nothin'.   I got whisked away, riding the hour home driven by our friend Vinnie  was (she was a Godsend). I stayed the night at my mom's house (speaking of Saints!).

I've got my phone alarm set for every four hours so I don't miss a dose of Vicodin.  You know what they say - you've got to stay ahead of the pain.  if I'm ahead of it, what am I feeling now?

It took me so long to write this the first time the blip time expired.  Fortunately, I had the good sense to copy and paste it somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.