Glen Etive

A chilly morning as I packed up and left Glencoe. That hookup cable is harder to wind up when it's frozen with grass and moss stuck to it. Before heading north I took a drive back along the A82 to Glen Coe which was looking absolutely beautiful with a strong morning sun shining. Just a little way down the road to Glen Etive is a layby where one of the classic views of Buchaille Etive Mor is to be had. I hadn't planned to stop there (I've photographed it a couple of times before) but with cloud inversions and gorgeous light I couldn't pass it by. There are so many elements that can be included and so many angles that it is a challenge, despite being photographed a million times. 

I carried on down Glen Etive which is a very beautiful place and I could have spent loads of time there but I had understood that for reasons to do with access I had to be at my next site by 2 o'clock. I carried on to have a quick look at Loch Etive, a very beautiful and isolated loch. There's no through road here, it's just a single track road all the way there and back. 

My route took me through Fort William, Fort Augustus and along the south shore of Loch Ness, all very beautiful. As I got close I checked the details for the postcode and noticed that the book said, 'no arrivals before 2 pm'. Maybe I misheard the man at Glencoe but I wish I'd checked it earlier. I could have spent more time at Loch Etive. Never mind, I'll look forward to going back at another time.

This site on the banks of Loch Ness is great and I have wi-fi for the first time on this trip. I'll stay here a couple of days, maybe longer.

I've included a couple of extras today. Ones another view of Beuchaille Etive Mor (The Great Shepherd) and one of the glen to the left of it, with a bit of rising mist.

This is yesterday's shot and when I post tonight that'll be me up to date again. Do have a look at my previous of Loch Leven, which you may have missed with my late postings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.